First Birthday Planning Underway

26 Jan

Neely’s FIRST birthday party is in less than 2 months!
AHHHH!!!
When I was growing up my mom always threw great parties for me.
She always made my cake too.
That is important to me; to throw Neely great parties and make her cake.
Her party is going to be owl themed. Did I already mention that? I can’t remember.
The invitations are going to be:

made by me. Obviously!
I love love them. I also love the colors that I happened to choose and those will be her party colors.

So far I have plans to make owl cupcakes and an owl cake. I think the owl cake, fancy as it may be, will probably be Neely’s cake because afterall, it is her birthday!
I am still on the hunt for cute classy touches, so if you see of anything that meets the criteria, send it my way! :)

What are your plans for your child’s next birthday? Or if you don’t have a child, what are your plans for your next birthday?
As soon as Neely’s birthday is over I have to start thinking about Brett’s 30th which is in July! This is the year of big birthdays!

 

 

9 Responses to “First Birthday Planning Underway”

  1. Cindie Vertefeuille 01/26/2011 at 6:30 am #

    Sarah,
    I decided from the beginning of my kid-journey that birthday celebrations would be the biggest. I tried to emphasize that on Christmas we should focus on Jesus and birthdays we focus of them. You probably remember the gazillion birthday parties…you were at most of them!

    Here’s an idea: how about each cupcake being an owl eye?

    • Sarah 01/27/2011 at 8:17 am #

      You always threw great parties!!
      I have the cupcakes I’m going to make, they are these:right here!

  2. Brett 01/26/2011 at 6:52 am #

    Everything looks SO cool and all of your ideas are genius! uhhh, why are you writing blogs/tweeting before 6am in the morning?
    My idea for my next birthday is a tropical theme… ;-)

    • Sarah 01/27/2011 at 8:16 am #

      Tropical theme! In the tropics! Yay!!

  3. Steph 01/26/2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Wow you are on top of things Mama! I don’t have any specific ideas for Ryan’s 1st yet, but I plan on having it at our house and keeping it relatively small. Probably a BBQ with family and close friends. My hubby also turns 30 in April, so I better get my behind in gear and start planning!
    OH and I agree on the cake. I will definitely be making Ryan’s cake. My mom always made mine and it just feels more special.

    • Sarah 01/27/2011 at 8:15 am #

      It’s because I’m such a procrastinator. I’m changing that for Neely, she deserves well thought out birthdays.
      You have a lot to plan! Good luck!

  4. ihilani 01/26/2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Ok i have NO idea what to do for Noweo’s bday. typically 1st birthdays here are a GIANT luau with a couple hundred people, tons of food and a live band, but I don’t want it to be that big and stressful…just something intimate with family. But as far as what to do??? or how to theme it??? I’m so lost on ideas!

    • Sarah 01/27/2011 at 8:14 am #

      Well you guys are lucky because you can have it outdoors (unless it rains) which is what we are doing. We’re doing it in our backyard as an open house sort of thing. Maybe that would work with a giant luau? Have family and friends take care of the food and say come visit between 11-3 cake cutting will be at this time and she’ll open her presents at this time. That’s what we’re doing at least, we’re inviting like 75 people!

  5. Loriannne 01/30/2011 at 7:42 pm #

    We’ve never had big parties. I never have the time to plan them. Sigh. We’ll go roller skating for D this year, and R’s dad is talking about getting them before her birthday, which I do not like. Not spend my girlie’s birthday with her? No, no, no. I’m going to Mexico for mine this year. Unless you want to come here and throw me a party… ;)

Leave a Reply

