Life

19 Jan

Harold & Rita

Isn’t “life” a funny word? We say it often, not really thinking about it. What it really is. We really don’t stop and think about life until someone’s is taken from them.
2 days ago my parents lost one of their dear friends Harold. He went to play basketball, had a heart attack and never made it back.
His life was taken.
We have comfort knowing he is now with Jesus but that really doesn’t help that much when it’s your loved one that is gone. I mean, it’s nice to know you’ll see each other again, but how do you go on after someone dies?
I am pretty blessed to only have lost 4 people dear to me (My 2 babies, my grandpa and my dog who I had for 14 years), but even so, I always have a hard time moving on.
And you think about life going on without this person and it seems impossible.
It seems impossible that they’re not here anymore. Is it true?
I don’t really know what I’m trying to say. All I can say is that losing a life is never good.
I hate that my parents have to hurt so deeply. Again. It seems like they’ve lost so many friends in the last few years.
I hate that Harold’s beautiful wife has to have her heart ripped from her body. Her best friend, her love is no longer by her side. She has to now navigate through life without her protector. She has to do everything all by herself. My heart aches thinking about it.
I hate that their children and grandchildren will no longer hear his laughter or his words of wisdom.
I can do nothing to ease anyone’s pain. All I try to do is speak about lighter things…try to ease into talking about the deep loss.
Yes, yes, heaven is definitely a mind-bogglingly (is that a word) amazing place to look forward to, but living, going about your daily life without the person you love is tragic.
I hate death.

4 Responses to “Life”

  1. La Vonda 01/19/2011 at 5:52 pm #

    :(
    so so sorry.

  2. GG 01/19/2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Well said…my daughter!

  3. ihilani 01/23/2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear that! Yes, the thought of heaven is a small comfort when you have to deal with tomorrow, and the next day, and the next day. I don’t know how I would do it if I lost my husband, or Noweo. My grandfather died when my dad was just 13, leaving my grandma and 5 children (dad’s the oldest). It took A LOT of time and A LOT of prayer. Hugs and prayers to your family and Harold’s! Hopefully things will slowly get a little easier to bear.

  4. Brett 01/24/2011 at 8:56 am #

    Death is dumb. It seems too tragic to fathom, and yet the longer we leave, the more we have to.

Leave a Reply

