End of an Era

13 Dec

Throughout the last month Neely has been wanting to nurse less and less. It happened so gradually that before I knew it, I was only nursing her twice a day. I could tell that she didn’t really need it and it was only used for comfort. Soon, she stopped being interested at all. Anything would distract her while eating and feedings were only lasting 5 minutes if that. Then the biting began. And being bitten by two bottom teeth HURTS!
So I made the decision to stop her last two daily feedings.
She never even noticed. That’s how not into nursing she was.
And while I’m sad and sometimes (albeit for no reason) guilt-ridden for quitting, I am so so glad I nursed her for 8 months.
When I was pregnant I always said I would go for 6 months or until she got teeth but listening to Neely was a much better choice.
SHE chose to stop, SHE became more interested in our food and lucky for me, she likes formula!
Nursing was an amazing bonding experience; one that I could never replace. I am blessed to have been able to do it.
We are constantly entering in to new phases in her life and I can’t wait to see what the future has for her!

6 Responses to “End of an Era”

  1. Steph 12/13/2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Sounds like it was the right time. Congrats for making it to 8 months! I’m still BF’ing Ryan and it makes me really sad to think about stopping. But his 6 (Yes 6!) teeth are getting quite painful at times. I’m going to try and stick it out until he seems ready to stop because right now breastfeeding is THE only way I can get him to sleep.

  2. GG 12/13/2010 at 3:17 pm #

    Maybe you will start really missing BF and want to have another baby! Let’s keep this family growing!!!! :-D

  3. Cindie Vertefeuille 12/13/2010 at 4:27 pm #

    I am so proud of the mama that you are, Sarah!

  4. hulilau 12/13/2010 at 11:01 pm #

    Wow that’s the easiest weaning story I’ve ever heard. Neely is just growing and maturing so fast. I dread the day Noweo doesn’t want to nurse anymore, and I often wonder how I’ll know she’s ready to stop. After reading this I think I’ll know when the time is right.

  5. Loralyn 12/14/2010 at 10:51 am #

    Same thing happened to Aurora, almost exactly! Only difference was I was pumping months 3-8 bc I had to go back to work – but the weaning thing and how you described Neely to act was totally the same as Aurora. At 8 months my milk just dried up cause 100% pumping just wasnt keeping production up.

  6. Kelly Vasami 12/17/2010 at 2:29 pm #

    I still miss nursing, and mourn for the day that was my last day. I kind of knew it was my last time, but not fully. Still makes me sad. Mine dried up very early (around 3 months) but it was partially my fault, I’d go too long in between pumping and get too full. Anyway, you should be very proud of how long you lasted and that it was a good transition for Neely. What a sweet and lovely bonding experience for you both!

Leave a Reply

