Changing

4 Dec

It’s hard to blog about topics that aren’t Neely so I googled “blog prompts” and found this one:

Are you ready to change that one thing about yourself that drives you nuts? How?

I really like this prompt! I think about this all of the time. It really surprises me when people know they have a certain flaw yet act like they are powerless to change themselves.

  • I have two major flaws that I want to change.
  • I am not always loving and I am a “no” person.

The Bible says that God IS love. We are made in His image so we are to also BE love. I have been on a journey to be more loving for the last year or so but sometimes I forget! Sometimes it’s easier to let those snotty thoughts roam free in my mind. Sometimes it’s easier to think the worst of someone or to jump to conclusions without talking to them. I hate that about myself. I want people to see me and see that I am loving and then wonder why. I want God’s light to shine through me. And for the most part, I think I do a good job of being outwardly kind to people. But in my head, that’s an entirely different story. If I let my thoughts free…I don’t even want to know what that would be like! I have been reigning my thoughts in lately but it’s a constant battle. And I believe that it definitely matters what I am thinking. If I’m nice to someone but thinking mean things about them then I may as well say those things to their face.
Do you ever struggle with the same thing?

And the “no” person thing…ugh. I’m so so tired of it. What I mean is this. If someone asks me to do something or if something happens that is not my plan or idea I am quick to think or say NO! I am also quick to list the ways why this thing won’t work or why it’s too difficult. I really don’t think that it’s a good or productive way to live my life. So I am on a journey to say and think “yes” more often. It’s SO SO hard though. I’ve been this way my entire life.

Basically I just want to be the best version of myself possible.
How about you? We all have personality flaws and things that we can do to become better people. What is something that drives you nuts about yourself? Have you ever thought about changing before or are you the same person you were a year ago? If you don’t mind, please comment with your answers or leave a link to your own blog post!

9 Responses to “Changing”

  1. GG 12/04/2010 at 9:11 am #

    Hmmm…I wonder where you got these traits?

    • Sarah 12/05/2010 at 8:37 am #

      from heck?

  2. La Vonda 12/04/2010 at 9:40 am #

    Glad you are becoming the better Sarah, I am also on this journey.
    I want to release the negative and focus on my path and walk with Jesus. I am in a place to stand up for my God. I am a mother and I can help guide my children to the lord even with the strong outside influences like public school forcing my child to talk about “Mother-Earth” but calling things “Holiday” instead of Christmas.
    I feel that age is making stronger…

    • Sarah 12/05/2010 at 8:38 am #

      Your kids already have a soft heart for God and they’re SO SO sweet. I love you guys so much!

  3. La Vonda 12/04/2010 at 9:41 am #

    “I feel that age is making a stronger me” (did not finish the sentence above)

  4. Jo 12/04/2010 at 10:19 am #

    We need to hang out and rub off on each other. I am a “yes always” person and sometimes that’s not the best of traits. I end up putting more on my plate than I can handle and stressing out because I have to do everything to perfection, it’s annoying. I’ve been trying to learn to say “no” more. I still suck at it but what has helped a bit is having accountability, someone that will ask you how you are doing with it and will encourage you to say YES!

    I love that you are self aware and willing to change in areas that you think you need change, a teacher of mine said in class a bit ago self awareness is power, so cheers to you!

    • Sarah 12/05/2010 at 8:39 am #

      We need to give each other half of our traits then we’ll be the perfect combination! :)

  5. Melinda 12/06/2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Hey dear! Good thoughts and I will pray with you about these things and I am sure you will become better and better! (even though I think you are pretty super already)
    I am working on the “yes” thing too just like Jo. I tend to strive to please people because it gives me validation. I should strive to please God because that is all the validation I need. I am working on loving myself enough to let people know me… also learning to ignore the bad guy downstairs. xo

  6. Loralyn 12/08/2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I feel you on both topics, and am working on them in myself!

Leave a Reply

