Long Way Home

29 Nov

I’m writing this from the front seat of our car. We are traveling home from a nice long weekend visiting family in Las Vegas.
Unfortunately I am short on patience today. Neely has recently decided to go on strike from sleeping at night. I don’t know if it’s a normal eight month old thing or if she’s teething again, but I do know that it really sucks.
I have never felt so consistently tired in my life. Even when she was a newborn I felt more well rested than this. Consecutive days without sleep have a way of making you feel insane. My eyes constantly burn and my mind is on the verge of meltdown. I think if I ever was captured by spies they could easily use sleep deprivation to get the information out of me. I know people say that often but it’s true. Lack of sleep is ridiculous.
And, on this five hour car ride home, Neely has taken it upon herself to serenade us with crying. On the way TO Las Vegas, she cried for a total of a couple hours. It’s not her fault, she’s in a rear facing seat with nothing to look at. She’s bored! I would be bored too if I was her!
When did you buy a forward facing seat for your baby? I don’t want opinions on when is a good time (doctor says 20lbs), I just want to know at what age/weight your kids were able to join the rest of the forward facing world!
Anyway, all this to say, please pray for her (non)sleeping and my sanity! She’s lucky she’s so cute! :)

7 Responses to “Long Way Home”

  1. La Vonda 11/29/2010 at 9:40 am #

    I turned O around at nine months, I think she was only eighteen pounds but I could not take anymore. Our ride home started at eleven and ended at 7 something p.m., can you say nightmare drive from the pits of hell. :)

    Neely is adorable!

  2. ihilani 11/29/2010 at 1:56 pm #

    first of all, I LOVE your candy cane background, second, I just got over feeling that way last week. It was particularly brutal, with lots of nighttime wakings. I can’t answer your question because obviously Noweo’s not forward facing yet, but i understand the rear-facing boredom thing. I feel bad for Noweo too….we should invent something to entertain our rear-racing babies and make millions!

  3. Kelly Vasami 11/29/2010 at 3:20 pm #

    I turned my son around at one I think. there are some people who keep them rear facing til they get to college or some crap like that. ;) Think about getting her some toys to hang from her infant seat handle, or even an arch that can attach to the infant seat. It’s been our saving grace. Or a mirror? They love to look at themselves :) And why not, she’s so cute! (She looks like a big girl in that new photo! Stay a baby Neely!)

  4. Kelly Vasami 11/29/2010 at 3:22 pm #

    We have one similar that we got on sale (Diapers.com?). Baby girl loves this:
    http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3612713

  5. Alyssa 11/29/2010 at 10:23 pm #

    We got Keira a forward facing car seat when she was 11months. She is a big kid and was getting soo tall, but more then anything we did it for our sanity. She was 19 pounds but totally uncomfortable because of how tall she was and the way her legs dangled over. We tried the toys and everything but after awhile she couldnt take it and neither could we.

  6. Loralyn 11/30/2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Current recommendations are saying that its safest for them to be rear facing as long as possible within the recommendations for weight and height for your carseat… so we got a convertible one with the largest limits for height for rear facing and will keep her in it as long as possible. We are lucky that shes good in her carseat though – if she were terrible or miserable it would make the decision harder!

  7. Claire 12/04/2010 at 3:19 am #

    I feel your pain.

    My little one, who is now almost three only just started sleeping through a few months back!
    From the age of 6 months until he turned 2 I don’t think I got more than 4 hours sleep a night! AAAAAAAAAAAAARGH

Leave a Reply

