Teething Trials

1 Oct

Wow. So, this past week has been really tough.
Neely hasn’t been drooling as much but her pain level has been sky-high.
I know all of the tricks, and we’ve been trying them, but it only helps for a minute. And there are about 1,080 minutes per day that I need to try and make her pain-free.
I feel bad for her, she doesn’t know why she’s crying, just that she needs to.
And I feel bad for me because I can’t fix it. It’s normal, every baby gets teeth and has a rough time getting them.
A couple nights ago she cried so much after being in bed (we wanted to see if she’d ever calm down- the answer is no.) that her poor little eyes were swollen. That broke my heart. I hate seeing her sad and in pain.
I hope this time goes by quickly.
She has been crawling more and has been pulling herself up using whatever surface she can find!
Today, at the baby resale shop near us, we bought this amazing toy:
It allows her to pull herself up and has plenty of noise and lights to keep her interested! I think it’s going to be a good thing!
We also bought her her first highchair!
I’m so excited that she’s big enough for it now!

Because Neely has been teething, she hasn’t been sleeping . Because she hasn’t been sleeping, either have I. I am desperate for sleep and don’t know when I’ll get it next! This causes me to be very anti-social but I have to preserve my energy to care for a 6 month old.
Yesterday, while driving home on the freeway, my friend and I saw a black lab get hit by a car. I will spare you the details but it was the most horrific thing I have ever seen. I screamed and I cried and when my friend went home I sobbed. I thought about it all day, the image replaying in my mind. I have thought about it a lot today as well.
I love animals so much. I don’t know why I had to be the one to see that happen. And I don’t know why the guy didn’t try harder not to hit it, we weren’t even going freeway speed. I mostly don’t know why he didn’t stop. How do you hit a giant dog and then keep going? Even writing that sentence makes me feel sick because I keep picturing it.
So I’m hoping that I will forget everything soon, but I don’t think it’s possible.
Neely just made a nice present for me so that’s all for now.
I hope everyone has a good weekend!

3 Responses to “Teething Trials”

  1. La Vonda 10/01/2010 at 6:37 pm #

    :( so sorry about your blues, I promise it will get better..

  2. Maranda 10/02/2010 at 7:47 am #

    Oh my gosh… My 5 month old is teething and it’s about to be the death of me. Hang in there- I feel your pain!

  3. Melinda 10/04/2010 at 8:51 am #

    Oh my gosh… I keep playing it over and over in my head too :( It is so sad and disturbing…

Leave a Reply

