Independence Jam

30 Aug

Yesterday was the Independence Jam put on by fm94.9. It was awesome! On the main stage they had Delta Spirit, The Whigs, Rogue Wave and Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. Brett played trumpet with Delta Spirit (he played trumpet on both of their albums) so we got there around 2pm.
I had been a little nervous before going because I’m not the best breastfeeder in public and I didn’t know how well she would do being in the Baby Bjorn ALL day.
A little while after we got to the venue, Brett had to go over his trumpet lines with one of the band members.
Neely was just hanging out with me, being cute and happy! While he was on stage getting ready for sound check, I decided to go up to the car and feed her and change her diaper. I had packed a couple breast milk bottles in case I had to feed her during the show, so I was very glad she ate in the car!
Thanks to these,
We were able to roam freely around the different stages and back stages.
It was a lot of fun!
We met a couple of the bands and of course everyone LOVED Neely. I’m not kidding, at least 5 people asked us if they could take her picture! And everyone we passed ooohed and awwwed over her headphones and giant bow.
So then came time for Brett’s first song with Delta Spirit. Neely and I went into the crowd so I could video it!

SO good, right??
And his second song…

After Delta Spirit finished playing, Brett wanted to hold Neely up on stage and I was embarrassed so the drummer took the pic while Brett held her up! Neely had about 3,000 people cheering for her!

After that we hung out until about 10pm.
Backstage, Neely got to play Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros’ piano!
:)
Neely only cried once all day and that was from being tired. All in all it was an amazing day and night and I’m so glad we were able to be a part of it!
As I like to say, music is the blood that flows through my veins and any time we can bring Neely around shows, we will. This is how every kid should grow up, I was raised on music and she will be too.

5 Responses to “Independence Jam”

  1. La Vonda 08/30/2010 at 11:04 am #

    awww…. what a moment to remember :)

    • Sarah 08/30/2010 at 10:26 pm #

      I know! It was amazing!!

  2. Brett 09/02/2010 at 7:03 am #

    One of our funnest days ever!!

  3. Jamie 09/04/2010 at 8:36 am #

    The picture of Brett holding Neely up for the crowd reminds me of the Lion King. LOL What a fun day…Neely will love it more and more as she gets older. Love the post!

  4. Monica 09/06/2010 at 9:51 am #

    where did you find her headphones? we could use a pair of those!!

Leave a Reply

