Sleep

16 Aug

Neely hates it.
I think she thinks she’ll miss out on something if she falls asleep.
Which explains her midnight bedtime.
Rather, her midnight that’swhenshehappenstofallasleep time.
And it really isn’t a big deal to me…I am a night owl so I didn’t really notice.
But recently, she’s been getting REALLY tired and cranky around 8 or 9.
Yay! Right?
WRONG.
Because she still won’t fall asleep until midnight.
We’ve left her in her bed minutes at a time screaming her face off and nothing.
No sign of falling asleep or stopping crying.
A couple nights ago after we tried to let her cry for a while I rocked her for over thirty minutes until she seemed sleepy.
The second I laid her down she was wide-eyed again.
Tonight, we’ve been trying to get her to fall asleep for almost 2 hours.
We’ve tried letting her cry, rocking her, patting her, nursing her, baby einsteining her…and she’s right next to me in her happily sucking her toes.
If I left the room she would cry.
And I know to some parents that sounds just fine, but Neely, IN HER ENTIRE LIFE, has only cried herself to sleep once. One time. And that was in the car on the way home a couple months ago.
She’s the type of baby that will cry and cry and cry and cry and cry and cry…
I can’t take it.
So my question to you is, how did you establish a bed time for your baby? If possible, please go into detail. I need all the ideas and help I can get.
Note: telling me to let her cry it out isn’t going to work, thanks anyway.
Hah.
Thanks for any tips or fresh ideas you have!

6 Responses to “Sleep”

  1. GG 08/16/2010 at 10:47 pm #

    She has a bubble? :-)

  2. Steph 08/17/2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Sarah! I feel your bedtime pain! Ryan is the exact same way. The only thing that will usually work is nursing him to sleep. He’ll fall asleep attached to me and eventually drift off to sleep by around 10:30. Problem is, he’ll wake up as soon as I move him. So he ends up staying in bed next to me all night. If he wakes up I just latch him back on and he falls back to sleep. Great for him but so uncomfortable for me!
    I can’t wait to hear what people’s advice is for you. Hang in there!

  3. wendy 08/17/2010 at 1:11 pm #

    i typed out everything i did and it was lost. so give tyler a call tonight and i can explian it better. if you want

  4. La Vonda 08/17/2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Sarah, “This too shall pass” is what went through my head with Ocean. You gotta get through teething, we used night time orajel was wonderful & calming tablets. Seriously our kids lived on calming tablets.

  5. Kelly 08/18/2010 at 9:52 am #

    We were fortunate to have two kids that both slept pretty well, and fairly early on, so I doubt it was something we were doing, and more just crazy good luck. (this isn’t helping, is it?)

    But that being said, there were still a few things that seemed to have helped along the way. The first few weeks (months?), Jake would ONLY fall asleep in his swing. And then transferring him to the crib/basinet was a huge ordeal. One thing that helped was once they were asleep, we lowered them very slowly into the crib and kept our hands still on them. Then, slowly take away one hand, once they get used to that, slowly take away the other hand. It was a very slow transition, taking a minute or two or three if needed. This may help if Neely falls asleep while nursing.

    Alex still goes to bed very late, an hour or two after Jake’s 9pm-ish bedtime. She wakes up later, she sleeps more during the day, and that schedule works fine for us for now. Jake routinely went down for the night at 1am. Other people looked at us like we were crazy when I told them my infant’s bedtime was 1am, but that was when he fell asleep.

    We found the miracle blanket to be a big helper with getting Alex to sleep, and now, even at almost 6 months old, it’s still a lifesaver some nights when she is tired and wont let herself fall asleep. We also use a white noise machine, the sleep sheep, for her to fall asleep each night. We forgot it once when we went to my parents and it was hell!! Both the sleep sheep and the miracle blanket can be found on Amazon. I wish I owned stock in both – I recommend them so often!

    Hopefully one of more of these suggestions might help. But just do whatever works for your family. Each baby is unique and has her own schedule. Best of luck! :)

  6. Loralyn 08/18/2010 at 11:11 am #

    I read and followed the routine established in “The Baby Whisperer”. I followed it and from the very beginning Aurora has had a 7pm bedtime, eventually dropped the midnight feeding and has been sleeping 7-7 since about 4 months old, with regular naps during the day. We tell her its ‘nigh nigh’time and she waves to go to bed. We give her her pacifier and put her in her bed and she lays down and goes to to bed, all on her own. Sometimes she says no when we ask her ‘nigh nigh’ and sometimes she is a little fussy when we put her down, but then a min or two later she goes to bed. People think we are so lucky to have such a good baby/sleeper but I seriously think its because we got her on the schedule.

    You can borrow the book, Ill put it with the tanks to send over to you via Melinda. (Im seeing her next Th for a makeover party at my place. She mentioned she was going to invite you. If thats the case you can get it all then!)

Leave a Reply

