4 Years and 2 Days

24 Jul

That’s how long we have been married. 4 years and 2 days.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before but I was married previously. I got married when I was 19 to a boy that I did not get along with. We had nothing in common except God and it wasn’t enough. I was young, he was stubborn and mean. Our marriage was horrible from the day we got back from our honeymoon. We actually fought on our honeymoon but that’s another story. I remember the night we drove away from my parent’s house, my house, I walked inside my new home and collapsed sobbing. I felt too young and I knew I had made a huge mistake.
That was after being married for about 9 days.
A couple years later we ended up divorcing. We fought constantly, he was violent (not towards me but our poor house had holes in the wall, broken closet doors…etc.), verbally abusive like crazy, and he was in a cult. Yes, it’s true, my ex husband joined a cult. He didn’t think it was a cult, but when you’re in one you never do, right?
Anyway.
All of that to say I was 22, broken, divorced and alone.
I was pretty sure that I had lost my chance to marry and I was so sad.
I dated a couple guys that were wrong for me, but it was just to pass the time.
Then in 2004 my grandpa died.
My wonderful amazing lovely grandpa.
Cancer ate his bones.
Before he died, while I was dating one of those wrong boys, my grandpa said, “Honey, God is going to bring you a man to marry.” And I said, “Grandpa, I’m already dating so and so.” He smiled and repeated what he said.
I firmly believe that God showed him Brett before he died so that he wasn’t worried.
And then he left us.
It was a pivotal point in my life.
It was the first time I had lost someone to death.
And to lose such a big part of me…I didn’t know what to do.
Soon after that, Brett came to Las Vegas with a friend who was working there.
(Brett and I were childhood friends/crushes who had never lost contact.)
And from then on, it was us.
I was terrified to fall in love with him, but I had to.
He was like one of my body parts; I couldn’t live without him.
And crazily enough, he felt the same way.
We dated long distance for a year and then I moved to San Diego to be near him.
He made me the happiest woman alive when he married me 4 years and 2 days ago.
It almost seemed too good to be true.
How many people get to marry someone who is absolutely perfect for them?? Judging by most marriages I see, not many.
Brett and I didn’t settle.
We married who God intended us to marry.

Since being married I have fallen deeper in love with him. Deeper than I thought possible.
And now with the addition of Neely, it’s like my heart is in two pieces, outside of my body.
They are my life.
Thank you Brett for marrying me 4 years and 2 days ago.
Thank you for making me remember every day why I am desperately in love with you.
You are amazing.
My dreamboat.

7 Responses to “4 Years and 2 Days”

  1. Brett 07/24/2010 at 11:07 am #

    I love you so much! I love reading that story, and to know it’s about us is insane. I agree with everything about that blog! We belong together, and I really do look forward to the next 70 years living life with you, Sarah. You make me happy, thankful, and fully content…

  2. La Vonda 07/24/2010 at 11:53 am #

    OMG… I am gonna cry.

    • Jonnie 07/24/2010 at 7:48 pm #

      such a great life. :)

      love you three too pieces.

      • Sarah 07/27/2010 at 9:35 am #

        We three love YOU.

  3. Loralyn 07/26/2010 at 3:41 pm #

    You guys are amazing. It fills my heart to see such wonderful, loving relationships/families like yours.

    • Sarah 07/27/2010 at 9:34 am #

      Thank you!! :)

  4. Kelly 07/28/2010 at 6:42 pm #

    This is beautiful! Congratulations to you! :)

Leave a Reply

