Baby Food

19 Jul

Neely will be exclusively breast-fed until she’s six months old.
But, at that point, I am thinking about making my own baby food.
I am considering it because I would like to know exactly what is going into Neely’s body. I don’t want her to have an overabundance of chemicals and preservatives in her body for as long as I have control over that. Or until I get lazy. Haha.
If you make your own food or if you have tried it, is it hard?
What are the pros and cons?
Do you have any special gadgets that help you?
I only want to do it if it’s not super time-consuming.
I found the following one online…have you heard of it? Click to see on Amazon.
Anything else I should know about making baby food at home?
Please comment with your opinion!

THANK YOU!

8 Responses to “Baby Food”

  1. La Vonda 07/19/2010 at 7:38 am #

    I had a device from babies r us that mushed food. I made things like bananas or when they were old enough pasta and veggies after cooked. To tell u the truth I went back & forth because fresh fruits and veggies is a lot of time and money. I wonder if there are more natural baby foods in whole food stores just in case. My kids were so greedy Ryan and I were putting rice & oatmeal in their bottles or spoon feeding them at 3 months and older.

    • Sarah 07/28/2010 at 2:45 pm #

      I know that there are organic baby foods but I think it may be cheaper to make my own. And we need CHEAP these days hah.

  2. Marjan 07/19/2010 at 8:08 am #

    Before having even clicked on the link I was already going to recommend the babycook. It was the easiest way to steamcook lots of different types of vegetables and fruits and later on also meat, fish and poultry. I still use it occasionally for my two year old’s dinners. Very easy to use and very healthy tasty food which can be easily pureed and blended. Also handy to buy are those freezer pots which you can store the purees in till you need them and then just defrost them and use them as needed.

  3. Marjan 07/19/2010 at 8:12 am #

    Also forgot to add that it doesn’t have to be fresh fruit and vegetables. You really can buy frozen fruit and vegetables and put them in the babycook then steam them and blend and refreeze in little feeding pots. Costs loads less then buying (and wasting) fresh stuff and is really just as healthy.

    • Sarah 07/28/2010 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks for the advice! I think I will try to budget and save for that machine because I’m not disciplined enough to do it on my own! And it’s SO nice to hear that you’re still using it two years later!

  4. Loralyn 07/19/2010 at 3:43 pm #

    Where do I start? First, its not for everyone. If you dont spend time cooking and preparing healthy food for yourself, you wont have the time to do it for your kid. But if you DO, then its really not a lot of extra time or effort to make some batches for your baby. All you do is make a big pot of whatever flavor you want http://www.amazon.com/Top-100-Baby-Purees-Healthy/dp/0743289579/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1279578704&sr=8-2 is an awesome book for simple ideas and recipes. Simple fruit ones you dont even have to cook, you can just puree. You can also make them much more flavorful and expose them to more tastes than baby food from the jar, which tastes like crap. Go ahead, pop open any flavor (other than a fruit flavor) and see if you would like to eat it for a meal. I wouldnt, so I didnt feed it to my baby. I would put garlic, onion, all kinds of spices and herbs in my baby food which was awesome for her to get to taste. She loved all of it and it was so good that I would eat it. So you just make a big pot of it, then puree it in a blender or food processor (I wouldnt recommend buying that special baby food thing; I think its a waste of $ and space if you already have a kitchen appliance that will do the job just as well for a little bit more prep work/dishes) then put it in ice cube trays, and pop out and store in labled ziploc bags when frozen. YOu can make larger and larger batches as your baby eats more, and then have lots of flavors on hand whenever. They are fine for travel, you just put some cubes in tupperware and you are off – they defrost on the go. I also wouldnt buy any fancy stuff for storage or freezing; ice cube trays and tupperware work just fine for a fraction of the cost. Plum Organics are great purees in pouches that are super easy to carry for travel or on the go. They are all natural, organic, and taste really great compared to other foods. And as your kid gets older they can suck the food right out of the pouch, so you dont need a spoon or bowl or anything, and you can recap them. Well thats probably more than you were looking for, but if you want to talk to me more about what I did and how I did it, I would be happy to chat/email/fb.

    • Sarah 07/28/2010 at 2:47 pm #

      Ice cube trays are a great idea! I hate the taste of normal baby food, and I hate the idea of all of those preservatives and chemicals. I also hate the thought of spending a ton of money when it’s unnecessary. Thanks for all of the info…I have a lot to think about!!

  5. Steph 07/20/2010 at 9:52 am #

    I love the idea of making your own baby food! I’m definitely going to try this with Ryan in a few months. I want to expose him to as many healthy foods as possible while he’s young, in the hopes that he won’t be an incredibly picky eater later on. (like my hubby, haha)

Leave a Reply

