16 Weeks!

15 Jul

Mother, oh Mother, come shake out your cloth
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing and butter the bread,
Sew on the button and make up a bed.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown shiftless as Little Boy Blue
(lullaby, rock-a-bye, lullaby loo).
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
(pat-a-cake, darling, and peek-peek-a-boo).
The shopping is not done and there’s nothing for stew.
And out in the yard there is a hullabaloo.
But I’m playing “Kanga” and this is my “Roo.”
Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
(lullaby, rock-a-bye, lullaby loo).

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
For children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs, Dust go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

-Ruth Hulburt Hamilton, 1958

someone in Neely’s birthday club online posted this and it made me cry.
12 Responses to “16 Weeks!”

  1. GG 07/15/2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Our girl is getting so big! (…and looking so much like her mama)

    • Sarah 07/18/2010 at 10:00 am #

      She’s WAY cuter than her mama ever was!

  2. Kelly 07/15/2010 at 4:16 pm #

    LOVE the poem!

    She’s looking so grown up, and her outfit is just adorable :)

    • Sarah 07/18/2010 at 9:59 am #

      Thank you! Isn’t that poem amazing? It’s so important for us mommas to keep in mind!

  3. Brett 07/16/2010 at 8:54 am #

    You are a perfect Mom… for a perfect Neely! I could look at pictures of her all day, but luckily I get to hold her more than just look at pictures!

    • Chad 07/17/2010 at 12:33 pm #

      For the rest of us – pictures are awesome to look at mr “I get to hold her”!

    • Sarah 07/18/2010 at 9:59 am #

      I love you Brett.

  4. marlissa2006 07/16/2010 at 3:15 pm #

    She kills me! She is so stinkin cute! I love how her nose is crinkled from smiling so big. It is so contagious!!

    • Sarah 07/18/2010 at 9:59 am #

      Isn’t it soo cute?? I melt!

  5. Chad 07/17/2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Oh – forgot to say, she’s so photogenic, and who needs a photographer! Looks like you have a great eye Sarah

    • Sarah 07/18/2010 at 9:57 am #

      Thank you very much, I try to take great pictures! One day I’ll have a fancy picture and can be the family photographer! :)

  6. Jen 07/18/2010 at 11:47 am #

    That poem is so true-days,years seem to pass so fast… Just as the scripture says “This is the day the Lord has made let us rejoice and be glad in it” we have to celebrate life and our children in the now. Enjoy Neely as you are – she is a precious Gift from God :) xoxo

Leave a Reply

