Teething?

22 Jun


Neely will be 3 months old on Friday and although I know it’s early, I wonder if she’s teething?
She hasn’t been overly fussy or anything but a couple things she’s been doing make me wonder.
When nursing she bites on my nipple with her gums. Hard. Is this normal?
She pulls on her ears while nursing too.
She has been drooling like a dog in heat! A couple days ago I had to change her outfit because it was soaking wet from drool!
I don’t feel anything unusual on her gums, but then again I have no clue what to feel for!
Right now she’s sucking on her paci laying on the boppy on my lap. Every once in a while she will look up at me and smile. So while writing this post I have to keep stopping to mop myself up off the floor (she melts me).
What were your childrens first signs of teething and how old were they when they got their first tooth?

The drive home from Las Vegas was great! It took over and hour longer than normal but she was perfect! She didn’t get fussy, only made noise when she was hungry! Other than that she slept the whole way!

Now she’s falling asleep and I have to make the big decision: nap with her or wash my hair.
I think I vote for a nap!

By the way…she’s been teaching herself to put her pacifier back in her mouth! She has been trying to, at least! It’s SO cute to see her realize that she has the power to push it back in when it falls out!

Also, this wonderful lady is loaning me her daughter’s Bumbo! I think it’ll be genius for Neely to use one because all she wants to do all day is sit up!

Okay, off to nap!
Did you have a good weekend? What was the best thing about it?

10 Responses to “Teething?”

  1. La Vonda 06/22/2010 at 3:19 pm #

    O & D started around that age. Drooling, cranky, needing to bit on everything, running noses.

    • Sarah 06/23/2010 at 7:44 am #

      What should I do? Buy her a teething ring?

      • Jamie 06/23/2010 at 8:48 am #

        She very well could be teething. Kids start at all ages and “teething” doesn’t mean she will have a tooth tomorrow. My girls were drooling fools at 3 months. I would have to change their clothes constantly…bibs helped but would get soaked too! I got them a refrigerated teething ring that they both loved. My girls never acted like they were teething so I really did not have to do anything. They both got teeth poking through about 5-6 months old. My nephew had super swollen gums for 6 months before teeth popped out. My sis would massage his gums. He also loved to gnaw on stuff…teething ring/toys are good. The breastfeeding biter is totally normal and will get worse with teeth so beware! LOL My girls both also got low grade fevers when their teeth were coming in. I gave Tylenol in the morning when they woke up and it kept the fever from coming back on the days they woke up with one. Only happened a few times but I know lots of people whose kids got fevers with teeth. Just another FYI :)

        Kiss cutie Neely for me!

        • Sarah 06/24/2010 at 11:36 pm #

          Yeah…as soon as she has a tooth her boobie days are over! So hopefully she doesn’t get teeth yet!

  2. Loralyn 06/23/2010 at 9:55 am #

    Aurora didnt get her first tooth until 11 months (she was LATE). We kept thinking things were signs of it and then it never happened. I was ready to buy her a pair of dentures for her 1st bday. Then one day the sitter said she had a fever of 102 – it was her first fever ever and I got all freaked out. After a few days it broke, then 1 week after she had gotten the fever, she got a tooth! (bottom middle). Since she was such a late bloomer they all came right after that one and now 2 months later she has 5 and is popping number 6 through any day. EVERY tooth was preceeded by the fever 1 week before. She was not super drooly, I think because she was older when she got them so she had better mouth control and just swallowed it instead of it coming out the front. She also gets whiney, super cuddly and sleeps A LOT when she is teething. All babies are different but each one will have at least a few of the normal symptoms Ive found.

    • Sarah 06/24/2010 at 11:35 pm #

      “I was ready to buy her a pair of dentures for her 1st bday” LOL!!
      I will be on the lookout for a fever! I hope she doesn’t get teeth yet…I don’t want to stop breastfeeding this soon!

  3. Amber 06/23/2010 at 7:08 pm #

    My girls will be 12wks tomorrow and they are doing the same exact things. I could have written your blog :). I was curious too but a friend told me they could do this for months before anything happens so IDK. I find myself just letting them gnaw on my hands or whatever lol. Oh and I found a Bumbo at a yard sale for $5. I was afraid to buy a new one and then they would hate it. So far they like it. Kinda hard for them to sit in it too long before their neck gets tired!

    • Sarah 06/24/2010 at 11:31 pm #

      Yeah, I’ve been letting her chew on everything she wants to but she has a hard time when she realizes it’s not my boob lol!

  4. Stephanie 06/24/2010 at 11:47 am #

    Hi Sarah, my son started drooling like a demon around 3 months as well, only nothing popped through until 6 months. I just kept bibs on him at all times and gave him cold teething rings (which he loved loved loved!).

    Every little one is different, but for us we noticed bumps on his gums that were a bit translucent so you could just see the tooth under the service. This usually happened at day 2 (day 1 we ALWAYS missed the cues, and still do, lol!), then like clockwork, day 3 the tooth was through. 3 nights of up and down and bfeeding throughout the night to soothe him.

    I didn’t find the homeopathic remedies worked much, but at the first sign, I give him tylenol at bedtime. And that’s saying something because I’m not a medication kind of girl. But boy, teething is hard on our babies!

    Good luck!

    • Sarah 06/24/2010 at 11:34 pm #

      Did it take him a long time to figure out how to chew on the teething ring? I try to hand Neely one and she looks at it blankly and doesn’t hold it or put it in her mouth or anything! I think she’s just getting the hang of holding on to things.
      Thanks for telling me what to look for on her gums…I’ll be on the look out! I can’t believe how many teeth we have and how often our babies will be miserable! :)

Leave a Reply

