Father’s Day

20 Jun


Dear Brett,
When we decided to start trying to get pregnant two years ago I could never have imagined the journey it would take us on! We spent so long trying to get pregnant. You stood strong by me when we lost our baby. You were my rock throughout all of the months of negative pregnancy tests and tears. You never got fed up with my obsession to be a mother, in fact, you wanted just as badly to be a dad.
When we finally got the positive pregnancy test you were so excited! Your joy fueled my own and we knew that this was the one. You were patient through my hormonal pregnancy and always went to the store for even the slightest craving that I had. You would rub my feet when I made the slightest mention of them being sore. And all with a smile on your face and arms ready to hold me.
When Neely was born I could see pride and joy all over your face. You were and are so proud of our girl!
You work several jobs to make it possible for me to stay home and raise our daughter. I am grateful beyond words for that. You never complain and you are always willing to help me out when I’ve had a rough day with Neely. You always walk in the door with a smile and a kiss for your girls.
You are the man I have always dreamed of; the man most girls dream of.
I’m so thankful you chose me and I’m so thankful God chose you as Neely’s daddy. She is going to grow up safe and secure in the knowledge of your love for her. She will probably never get married because she’ll compare every guy to her daddy and they all will fall short!
You have built our family on prayer and strong faith in God and I love you for that.
You are an amazing daddy to Neely and an even better husband to me.
Know that on this, your very first Father’s Day, you are deeply loved.
Love,
Me

9 Responses to “Father’s Day”

  1. Brett 06/20/2010 at 9:33 pm #

    And….. I’m crying. I love you

  2. GG 06/21/2010 at 8:18 am #

    …and it even made me cry!

  3. La Vonda 06/21/2010 at 8:40 am #

    You guys r gonna make me cry :)

    Brett is a wonderful father and person, Happy Father’s Day!

  4. Loralyn 06/21/2010 at 11:02 am #

    You three are a beautiful family. It warms my heart to see the love flowing from you guys! You have something special, thats for sure.

    • Sarah 06/23/2010 at 7:47 am #

      Thank you!

  5. Kelly 06/21/2010 at 5:53 pm #

    This is beautiful! What a blessed family you have! :)

    • Sarah 06/23/2010 at 7:46 am #

      Thank you! I agree…God has definitely blessed me beyond belief!

  6. marlissa2006 06/23/2010 at 5:42 am #

    This made me cry!! What incredible strength you all have! What a blessing Neely is and how blessed is she to have such wonderful parents. I know that I don’t know you all personally, but from reading your blog, I know that Neely is going to be loved whole heart-idly. I believe that you all are wonderful parents and are going to have more patience with her and take care of her every need, because you wanted this so badly. I am excited that you all get to experience the joy of parenthood..you all deserve to have this happiness!

    • Sarah 06/23/2010 at 7:48 am #

      Thank you so much for your kind words! They mean a lot.

Leave a Reply

