My Niece

14 Jun

This is my beautiful niece Ocean.
Gorgeous, right?
Well, her insides are just as beautiful.
Ocean has always been my girl.
She is my first and only niece.
When my brother and his wife got pregnant with her, it was a few months after our precious grandpa died.
I took his death harder than I imagined.
The knowledge that a baby would soon join our family brought so much joy to my life.
When I found out she was a girl I cried.
My brother and his family eventually moved to San Diego and Ocean and I were able to spend so much time together.
(her brother was still too little to hang out a lot)
We have so many videos of us being silly and more pictures than I can even count.
She is a huge part of my heart.

She turned 5 in May.
It was the same weekend as Brett’s cd release so we weren’t able to go to LA to be with her.
So we surprised her the following weekend instead.
She was so happy!
That day my brother and sister took us up to Griffith Park.
While in the car driving to the Observatory I mentioned to my sister that I had never seen the Hollywood sign.
When we got out of the car, Ocean told me to close my eyes because she has a huge surprise for me.
I looked down at the ground and the entire walk up the hill to the Observatory she was walking with me making sure I wasn’t looking.
When we reached the top she led me to a lookout point and told me to open my eyes.
She yelled, “SURPRISE!”
It was the Hollywood sign!
She’s 5. Barely.
My angel niece heard I had never seen the sign, knew it was viewable at the top of the hill and turned it into a surprise for me.
And she was SO excited that I was so excited!
I mean…what 5 year olds are that thoughtful??
My heart swelled with even more love and pride in her that she is such a caring young woman.

They live in LA and we live in San Diego so we don’t see each other often but I know we have a bond that will never be broken.
I love this girl.

Here are some pictures from that day…my mom (her GG) bought her “Rollerskates like Aunt Sarah” for her birthday and we were helping her learn to skate!



8 Responses to “My Niece”

  1. marlissa2006 06/15/2010 at 4:59 am #

    That is the most precious thing!! What a thoughtful and beautiful little girl! Your family is gorgeous by the way!

    • Sarah 06/16/2010 at 11:21 am #

      Thank you!

  2. La Vonda 06/15/2010 at 6:44 am #

    Dang Sarah, now u are gonna make me cry. Love Ya sis!

    • Sarah 06/16/2010 at 11:20 am #

      Love you too!

  3. summer 06/16/2010 at 8:21 am #

    wordpress!? how do you like it?

    ok, Ocean is gorgeous but so is little Neely.

    • Sarah 06/16/2010 at 11:20 am #

      WordPress is SO much better than Blogger! I like how I can have several pages on my blog like an actual website and I like that it’s so neat and clean looking!
      <3

  4. Brett 06/16/2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Ocean is SUPER cute, and your relationship with her is even cuter! I miss you!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Lulu 06/16/2010 at 7:39 pm #

    She has always been so beautiful. Ocean Bear…grrrrr.

Leave a Reply

