2 Month Shots

7 Jun

I didn’t think I would get emotional when she was getting shots because normally I’m pretty tough.
When the lady stuck her with the first needle I was instantly teary.
My poor Neely has never had pain a day in her life and suddenly is getting three needles in her legs.
She didn’t understand why, just cried and cried and cried.
I had to blink to keep the tears away and so did Brett.
Our sad baby.
She was asleep once we got back to the car but for those few moments we were helpless to comfort our child.
What a horrible feeling!

Did you have the same reaction when getting your baby vaccinated?
Or, has your child had an injury that left you feeling powerless?
Share with me, please!

10 Responses to “2 Month Shots”

  1. Cindie Vertefeuille 06/07/2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Sarah,
    I’m sure you think I’m hard-hearted….but no…I didn’t get emotional…ever. Even when I had to wrap my arms AND legs around Andy…every flippin’ time.
    With both of the boys, I also WATCHED the doctor circumcise them. I guess I am just so interested that I forget to cry…

    • Sarah 06/08/2010 at 4:41 pm #

      I don’t think I could handle watching a circumcision!

  2. Melissa Podstawka (bz April BDC) 06/07/2010 at 4:16 pm #

    I have cried pretty much every time that my 2 year has had them. When Armin had his two month shots I cried as well. It is a horrible feeling watching them go through pain and not being able to make it go away!

    • Sarah 06/08/2010 at 4:40 pm #

      I know! Poor babies.

  3. La Vonda 06/07/2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Oh yeah, when Ocean had blood taken from the heel of her foot at a few weeks old, I lost it and cried in front of Ryan and the nurse. I had to go to the bathroom and compose myself. She looked at me like mom how could you. I was a lot better after that, it gets easier.

  4. sheeia02 06/07/2010 at 6:49 pm #

    I felt the same too.. and it was really hard to see my daughter crying for pain. Sometimes i told my hubby to accompany me so that i have more strength to stand while hearing her cry.

  5. Loralyn 06/08/2010 at 10:13 am #

    I’ve never heard my poor Aurora in the kind of cofused pain that she was in getting her last set of shots. It was so sad to hear, and I just wanted her to feel better. My Mom was with me and she just about couldnt stand it. She was ready to make me refuse the shots altogether! It sucks because here you are inflicting pain on them on purpose! (Even if its for the greater good and to protect them in the long run).

    • Sarah 06/08/2010 at 4:40 pm #

      I don’t think I could ever bring my mom with me…that might be too much for her to handle! I can’t believe in a month and a half Neely has to get MORE shots. Ugh. She better never get sick lol!

      • La Vonda 06/08/2010 at 5:17 pm #

        It is sad, I had the kids shot chart printed out & Ocean has had over 31 shots in her 5 years :(

  6. Brett 06/09/2010 at 5:45 am #

    Poor little Neely :-( I think she did very well.

Leave a Reply

