Nine Weeks

27 May

On Tuesday Neely celebrated her 2 month birthday!
She celebrated it by not getting vaccinated.
It’s not that we don’t believe in vaccines, because we do, it’s that sadly, she is uninsured.
Why?
Because she was under my insurance for 31 days from the date of her birth. In that time I was supposed to get her her own plan but failed to do so.
When the time came for her appointment I realized she had no insurance!
I called Kaiser and got quotes.
For a TWO MONTH OLD it’s about $100 a MONTH.
Say whaaaaat?
Isn’t that ridiculous?
So I thought to myself, “Hell no we”re not paying that much!” and canceled her appointment.
Since we’re in the “we don’t make a lot of money because my husband is self-employed and I’m a stay-at-home mom” bracket we qualify for a program called “Healthy Families“.
With this she will still have Kaiser but we’d only be paying $7 a month.
Which makes more sense. I mean…she won’t be going to the doctor enough to warrant spending $1200 a year on insurance!
Because I’m so not a doctor person. Unless I absolutely have to see the doctor (ie. I can’t breathe, something is bleeding profusely, I’m giving birth) I won’t go.
Anyway…they needed tons of information and I tried to get it all in time but I was missing all the important documents (whoops) and as of now, my daughter STILL is uninsured.
We’re going to get her vaccines at a free clinic (hopefully it’s less ghetto than it sounds) but as far as her 2 month baby checkup, I think that ship has sailed.

You can see for yourself that this nine week old seems to be in perfect health and in good spirits!
My parents came to town today and she’s been loved on by them both! Lucky girl!
I think the full moon today has affected her just like it affects me and she’s been a wee bit cranky!
Hopefully tomorrow she’ll be more cheerful so she can fully enjoy the amazing grandma and papa that she has!

2 Responses to “Nine Weeks”

  1. Cindie Vertefeuille 06/01/2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Sarah,
    ALL of my kids got ALL of their shots at the county clinic. Sometimes we would have to wait in a line, but it was worth it.
    We had regular insurance, but we had to make an appointment way ahead of time and wait in the waiting room forever and still pay a co-pay!
    It was at a convenient location and we didn’t need appointments.
    It wasn’t bad at all…. just my two cents…

    • Sarah 06/02/2010 at 11:28 am #

      That makes me feel MUCH better!

Leave a Reply

