a slightly less angry addendum

19 May

I have many precious people in my life who have opinions that I trust.
Funny thing is that those people never go around spouting off this and that.
Because they know I’m doing a great job.

I think it is rude to butt into people’s lives unsolicited.
If you’re overweight do people tell you that you’re fat and you need to diet?
Do they say, “Are you sure you should have that cheeseburger?”
No, because that is rude.

Same thing here. Just because you have an opinion about me or how I’m raising my child doesn’t give you a right to express it. The blog isn’t about one person. It’s about MANY. Many people think this is okay.

Just to ease your worried minds, please know that I consult “What To Expect the First Year” every five minutes. I consult my mom every five minutes. I ask my aunt. I ask my cousin’s wife who has recently been through the baby years. I’m getting enough opinions and advice to know that everything I’m doing is right.

If everyone universally could just give me their vote of confidence that would be awesome.

Thank you.

xoxo.

4 Responses to “a slightly less angry addendum”

  1. adoptionsforall 05/19/2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Sarah, my love. Because we have been somewhat in the public eye – I have looked many people in the eye over the years and said, point blank, "I don't care what you think about my parenting. I raise my child before an audience of ONE and that is all that counts."You WILL make mistakes, I promise. But they will be honest and mistakes made out of love. The mistakes you make will have absolutely nothing to do with the things you are facing now (feeding, teething, holding, etc.) Neely is a wonderful blessing to our family, just as YOU were a wonderful blessing and still are! You are an amazing mother."He settles the barren woman in her home as a happy mother of children. Praise the LORD." Psalm 113:8-9

  2. Miss Anne 05/19/2010 at 8:23 pm #

    I think you're fabulous.I think you're doing a GREAT job.Do NOT listen to anyone who has something unsupportive or negative to say.It's about respect and kindess.

  3. Brett 05/20/2010 at 8:25 pm #

    You ARE an amazing, outstanding Mom! I trust you more than anything, and I'm always confident that Neely is in the best hands on Earth! (She thinks so too)

  4. Loralyn 05/25/2010 at 7:57 am #

    There is no "right way" to parent. It depends on the family situation, and all the personalities of those family members involved. Your family is you, Brett, & Neely. And you are an informed mother who takes in all the advice and info there is out there then makes the best decisions for HER family! Anyone who criticizes you is doing so WITHOUT the full picture; thats something that only you have, and as long as you know that you are doing what is best for you, your baby and family, thats all that matters. Your true friends and extended family see that and have your back.

Leave a Reply

