35 Weeks!

3 Mar

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby doesn’t have much room to maneuver now that he’s over 18 inches long and tips the scales at 5 1/4 pounds (pick up a honeydew melon). Because it’s so snug in your womb, he isn’t likely to be doing somersaults anymore, but the number of times he kicks should remain about the same. His kidneys are fully developed now, and his liver can process some waste products. Most of his basic physical development is now complete — he’ll spend the next few weeks putting on weight.

What’s Been Happening In My Body This Past Week (what YOU may or may not experience in week 34-35)
  • Frequent urination– I’m only waking up 2-3 times a night instead of 6+ like in my first trimester!
  • Heartburn– this has actually improved as well. I can take one Tums at a time instead of two. Sometimes it hits me so suddenly that I feel like I’m going to throw up but usually one Tums will take care of it.
  • Nausea– yes, I have been getting nauseous about once a day lately. It’s not “from” anything other than being pregnant. It doesn’t last that long so it’s not a big deal.
  • Trouble Falling Asleep/Staying Asleep– I usually read before I go to bed and lately I haven’t been able to fall asleep until about 1am or so. From then I wake up every 2 hours to pee and some nights are like last night- I woke up at 3:44 and couldn’t go back to sleep until almost 5. I think it’s because my brain goes craaaazy.
  • Pelvic Pain– I had this in earlier weeks but now it is a different kind of pain. Previously, it was pain in my inner thigh muscles like I had been working out and was sore. Now it is just an almost constant pain almost in my pelvic bone. It’s because the baby is so heavy that she’s pushing against my ligaments. It hurts to walk, to stand up from sitting or laying, to roll from left side to right side, to put pants on…basically anything that you need to lift your leg for hurts.
  • Itchiness– This is a brand new joy to my life lol! It started a few days ago. My wrists were very itchy so I thought maybe I suddenly became allergic to my perfume. I stopped using it and a couple days ago, my entire body started itching. Like I was on crack or something (if people on crack itch…I’m not sure but it seems like they would haha). I itch and itch then get bumps. I didn’t mention it at my midwife appointment because I wasn’t itchy at the time so I forgot. I called Labor and Delivery yesterday and they told me to buy Sarna or take Benadryl. Since I’m not big on taking pills while pregnant, Brett went out and bought me Sarna. It’s not that great, honestly. It soothes the itching for a minute but then somewhere else on my body itches. I have Googled itching and some things that I’ve read are scary and itching can be a bad sign. I’m going to call the doctor if it hasn’t gotten better by tomorrow.
  • Rib Pain– it sucks…but icing it helps.
  • Colostrum Leakage– I’ve had this for months but lately they’ll leak even if I just bend over! I think it’s pretty awesome…it means my baby will be all set to get nutrition immediately!
We took a Childbirth Preparation Class over the weekend. It was SO awesome! We learned SO much and I highly recommend everyone take one. A lot of people say it’s a waste of time but we both loved it.
Being pregnant is still awesome despite all of theses nuisances. Because for every discomfort that I feel, there is a million times a day when I feel her move and it bonds me with her. I can now tell where her feet are and it’s the cutest thing to see them poke out of my side!! I love Neely SOOOOO much.

and p.s. wasn’t Brett’s post so great? It was his first blog post on here…you should leave him some love! ♥ 

Leave a Reply

