29 Weeks!

21 Jan

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby now weighs about 2 1/2 pounds (like a butternut squash) and is a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel. His muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and his head is growing bigger to make room for his developing brain. To meet his increasing nutritional demands, you’ll need plenty of protein, vitamins C, folic acid, and iron. And because his bones are soaking up lots of calcium, be sure to drink your milk (or find another good source of calcium, such as cheese, yogurt, or enriched orange juice). This trimester, about 250 milligrams of calcium are deposited in your baby’s hardening skeleton each day.

I am HUGE!! I can’t believe how much I’ve grown in the last week! I think she’s growing out more to the sides now, I really can’t see how I’m going to fit 11 more weeks of growing into my little body! Since I’m growing it means she’s growing which means she has less room in the womb. I have noticed a change in her movements. Not as much rolling around, just more pokes and slower movements. She LOVES to poke me right above my bellybutton! When I last went to the doctor I was given a kick count card. Every day I have to count her kicks. Babies should move at least 10 times within an hour. Neely does her 10 within five minutes every time! Keeping track is important because if you notice a change in movement, if it takes more than an hour for 10 movements, you have to call labor and delivery. Thank God that she’s doing well!
This week Brett put the crib together and we put the dresser that we’re using for a changing table together and right now he is working on the shelves that will house diapers and wipes and other cute baby things! I think this week I will start sketching out what we’re painting on her wall, and hopefully next week we can get it painted!
In my couple weeks experience in the third trimester I’ve noticed that I’m constantly exhausted, I have constant back pain and heartburn, and I have to constantly pee! Even with all the discomfort I am SO SO SO grateful that I am able to feel all of these things. I am SO grateful that I am able to grow a baby. I love her so much it’s crazy.
I notice that I have 26 people subscribed to my blog and only 2 regular commenters (Brett and my cousins Lorianne)! If you read my blog, please comment from time to time just to say hi! :)

Oh, and in other HAPPY HAPPY news, my cousin Katy, who is pretty much the same age as me and we’re very good friends on top of being related, is 12 weeks pregnant with her first baby!! Here is her cute sweet baby! Please keep them both in your prayers!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

