28 Weeks!! Third Trimester!!

13 Jan

How your baby’s growing:

By this week, your baby weighs two and a quarter pounds (like a Chinese cabbage) and measures 14.8 inches from the top of her head to her heels. She can blink her eyes, which now sport lashes. With her eyesight developing, she may be able to see the light that filters in through your womb. She’s also developing billions of neurons in her brain and adding more body fat in preparation for life in the outside world.

I can’t believe I’m in my third trimester!! I am sooo happy and thankful!

Here is a picture from my 3 hour glucose test I did yesterday (which came back normal, thank GOD.):

This is called How NOT To Draw Someone’s Blood.
This lady (who I had twice) would lightly tap my arm and then stick the needle in. She then would WIGGLE THE NEEDLE AROUND UNTIL SHE FOUND THE VEIN. On BOTH of my arms. My left arm is puffy and will probably bruise up later today.
Here is my total test experience:
Today I had to do the 3 hour glucose tolerance test and I was miserable. In the 1 hour test the drink is only 50g of glucose and it didn’t taste that bad. This one is 100g of glucose. That much sweetness is almost impossible to drink. The only thing that helps is they tell you if you throw up you have to start all over again. After you drink it they draw your blood. You then wait an hour. That was the WORST hour. I thought I was going to throw up so much to the point that Brett and I prayed in the waiting room that I wouldn’t. All the sugar was rushing to my head and making my heart pound. Neely was going crazy kicking. It was miserable. After the hour you get your blood drawn three more times for a total of three hours. After the first hour and a half I felt better and didn’t want to die as bad, so that’s a plus! The only bothersome thing was the painful blood draws.
Luckily Brett was with me the whole time so I had some great support!
I hope to finally record a video later so keep checking back!

Leave a Reply

