27 Weeks!

6 Jan

How your baby’s growing:

This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds (like a head of cauliflower) and is about 14 1/2 inches long with her legs extended. She’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were to be born now. Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother her, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.



We spent the last couple weeks in Las Vegas visiting my family but we’re home now. This is my last week in the 2nd trimester! Neely doesn’t move wildly often but on New Year’s Eve day she was going CRAAAAZY!! She was moving SO much all day and night! It was soo cute.
Last night I was laying on the couch (I’ve been sick the last couple of days) and she had not been recently moving (probably sleeping) and I started talking to her and telling her about the beach and how much fun we’ll have there and how I can’t wait to hold her and kiss her and she started moving around! I was SO happy. And right before bed Brett put his face on my belly and started talking to her and when she heard his voice she began to move! It’s so cute that she already knows her daddy!
I’m not sure how much weight I’ve gained but it’s almost all in my belly. My legs are consistently sore and I think it’s because of the extra weight they’re having to lug around. I have a doctor appointment on Friday so I’m going to ask her about that. Friday is also the day I drink the dreaded juice to test for gestational diabetes. I REALLY REALLY hope I pass the test or else I’ll have to do the 3 hour one. I’ve done that before and it is the pits. I don’t appreciate getting poked in my arm more than once per day. haha.
Happy New Year! This year is going to be AWESOME!!


Leave a Reply

