24 weeks!

16 Dec

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts him at just over a pound. Since he’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), he cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but his body is filling out proportionally and he’ll soon start to plump up. His brain is also growing quickly now, and his taste buds are continuing to develop. His lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help his air sacs inflate once he hits the outside world. His skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.

This past week has been filled with a lot of strong kicks and LOTS of heartburn! This morning around 2 I was woken up by heartburn and had to take Tums! Thank GOD for Tums. Seriously. I don’t know where I would be without them!
My belly button is half out, haha!
I still don’t look pregnant from the back! I’m very very excited about that. I am hoping to keep the weight gain to a minimum and lose it fairly quickly after I give birth. I’m going to gain as much as I need to, but nothing in excess. Hopefully. I think so far I’ve gained about 15lbs., so I think I’m doing pretty well.
As far as my last blog goes, that wasn’t my passive-aggressive way of telling people I don’t want them in the room for sure, it was just a stressed-fueled vent. I will think about it more this month and find out the person-in-the-room limit at my next appointment (early January). I heard a lot of hospitals only allow 2 people besides the mother so if that’s the case, then problem solved! 
I talk to my mom about it and she brought up a good point, after Neely is born, Brett and I will want alone time with her. So probably whoever IS in the room will see her born, saw aww and then leave. Everyone will be able to hold her later but we’ve waited SO LONG for her that we’ll want to hog her for a while!
I really can’t believe I have a little over 3 months left. It’s gone by SO FAST. I know a couple people who are in their first trimester and it seems like that was years ago for me! 
Being pregnant is awesome. I feel so connected to Neely. Every time she kicks or turns over my heart softens and melts a little. Everything she does warrants a “Oh how cuute” response from me! I just feel so tender toward her and her tiny limbs.
At our last appointment they told us she weighs over a pound! Isn’t that soo cute? She’s growing SO much!!
I’d like to post a photo comparison of 7 weeks pregnant and 24 weeks pregnant just to see how much I’ve grown! I cannot believe I ever thought I was fat. I’m dumb. I was THIIIIIIIN. hahhaha

Leave a Reply

