Three Amazing Years

22 Jul

Three years ago today I said the greatest words of my life, “I do”.
Those words sealed our commitment to each other and began our journey as a married couple.
No one could be a greater husband than Brett.
He loves me unconditionally and purely.


1 Corinthians 13:4 Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud 5 or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 6 It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. 7 Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.


Those verses are Brett.

I’m going to tell you a secret. I was married previously. When I was 19 I thought I was grown up and knew everything and made a huge huge mistake. Thankfully, God rescued me from a HORRIBLE situation and forgave me.
I had messed up so much in my life and almost ruined things but God saved me.
I thought I would never get married again (dramatic thinking at the time lol) and I thought that I would never trust again. How could I trust anyone when I was lying in pieces on the floor?
In 2003 my grandpa began his journey to heaven.
I was dating someone at the time, someone that was not perfect for me, and I remember my grandpa looking into my eyes after hugging me and telling me, “Sarah, God is going to bring you a husband.” I remember thinking two things to myself, one, I’m already dating _____. And two, I don’t really want a husband.
Brett and I had kept in contact through the years but as I stated, I was married and he was in a serious relationship. My boyfriend and I broke up in January of 2004 and I decided to take a trip to San Diego at the beginning of March to see my brother perform and to see Brett and his family. I fully expected to hang out with him and his girlfriend and I was fine with that. I wasn’t looking for a relationship, although I thought he was DREAMY!
When I got to San Diego and to his parent’s house, his girlfriend wasn’t there. I didn’t mention it for a while and later in the day we were sitting in the backyard talking and he casually mentioned that they broke up. My heart leapt. I had a chance!!
We hung out late into the night and I drove back to Las Vegas hopeful, yet being content with a friendship.
We kept in contact through email (I had begun dating someone else) and then late March arrived.
My beautiful, amazing, wonderful Grandpa went to be with Jesus.
It was the worst thing that I had been through, the worst thing that I’ve still been through. I loved my grandpa more than anyone could understand. We had a special bond.
Brett called me and kept in contact with me.
In April Brett told me that he was coming to town with a couple friends and could he stay at the house that me and my best friend and other people lived at? YES!!!
I immediately broke it off with the guy I was seeing because I knew if it worked out this time it would probably be forever. (girls just know these things sometimes)
He came to town and we had SO much fun. We all went out to dance at 80’s night. Toward the end of the night…Brett kissed me!!
The rest is history! And the future is ours!
Life is really amazing and wonderful when you wake up next to someone like Brett every single day.
It’s been three amazing breathtaking years and I cannot WAIT for the rest of our lives!!
I love you, baby.

Leave a Reply

